Down the spine

i neglect the housework

To run my hands

Down the spine of our long

Intercourse together 

We-2-almost-grown-up on that narrow bed

So close

To street traffic

I cup

So many things 

In my hands, against your chest

Your beating heart the 

Metonymy of love

This phrase you have given me–

Someplace soft and safe

I will finger it as the beaten ring of gold

Hole run through center

On a ribbon  strung across

The cave of flesh

Where neck meets bone

Tokens of something deeper than the 

Two of us

Words spoken in secret 

Cells knit 

Together in my womb

Someplace…

Someplace…

Tell me again, my love

…soft and safe

Leave a Reply

