Dog-eyed woman 4

I stand in the cold water
My body divided
Like a magic trick
Between the living warm
And dead cold
Blue water in the night
The sky a clear dome
Vaulted points of light
Cold
I will be cold
In or out
I dare myself
In!
Like the monk
Who would go chest deep
Into a winter sea
Pray
That is what you do in cold water
Because you are a mammal
98.6 degrees of water
Surrounded
By something bigger and colder than you
Like the grave
Our solitude here
Reminds me of resurrection
And Ulysses strange
Converse with the dead and they will tell you swim
Through Lethe through darkness
We will never be the same
Again.

Leave a Reply

