Buy Me

Buy me something
To staunch this wound
Buy me something
To drown this pain
Buy me something
To wear in mourning
With flowers in my hair
To hide the gray

Buy me something
To heal this sorrow
Buy me something
To mask this scar
Buy me something
To cover this bruise
And I will sing a song

Enduring love

Can’t buy a thing like that
Can’t buy restoration
What is lost is lost
And the rest is fragile

So buy me a wall
A fortress/a stronghold
A place can be run to
For hiding

All the things I have bought
All the treasure and gold
This world this illusion
That death does not lurk
Behind each dark door

So buy me a song
Built from words that will last
Love and trouble
Hope and tears
As the lion guards
The lamb

Hold my hand when I sink
Lift me up when I fall
Pull me up from the deep
Put your hand on my wrist
Drag me to light
I am
Alive again

Leave a Reply

