all the cities of the world

there are things I dont remember

like names when I have to introduce you

or the French verb for drink

but there are other things

i cannot forget

like the shape of your face

all the days i looked upon you

and saw in your eyes

all the cities of the world

or the violence of grief

which wrung me out

like a hole-y dishrag

after they took you from me

it hurt so bad

i wanted to pierce my arm

to let the pain out

like Jesus on the cross

for me

Leave a Reply

